Refine your route

LF 35 Campina-Haspengouwroute

The LF 35 is one of the four cross-links in the large circular Flanders Cycle Route. It starts in Tilburg and connects the Dutch with the Flemish LF-network. The distance from Baarle-Hertog, on the Dutch/Belgian border, to Sint-Truiden is 110 km. You cross the Campina mostly alongside canals, which guarantees that the cycle paths are safe and quiet. In Hageland and Haspengouw the roads are neither straight nor flat. But the non-climbers don’t need to panic. Only between Kwaadmechelen and Sint-Truiden they have to face some small hills.

The straight lines alongside the canals and the 'Iron Way' and the many bends in the Hageland and Haspengouw provide plenty of variety.

from north to south:

The route starts at the enclaves Baarle-Nassau/Baarle-Hertog. The Bels Lijntje, a former railway track, takes you to Weelde on Flemish soil. From Turnhout the route runs along the canal Turnhout-Dessel, together with the LF 5 Flanders Cycle Route. At the canal intersection in Dessel-Witgoor it chooses the tow path along the canal Dessel-Kwaadmechelen, starting with a dip in the 'Silver Lake'. At the Albert Canal you touch the province of Limburg. Via the Halve Maan you cycle around Diest in Flemish Brabant and then southward to Webbekom. There the route makes a definite choice for the province of Limburg. From Halen to Geetbets you paddle on a former railway line, the 'Iron Way’. After having passed Zoutleeuw and Wilderen, you meet the LF 6 Flanders Cycle Route just beyond Sint-Truiden.

round trips:

The LF 35 Campina Haspengouw Route is a perfect link in multi-day trips through the provinces of Flemish Brabant, Antwerp and Limburg:

  • For the circular trip Sint-Truiden – Leuven – Mechelen – Lier – Turnhout – Diest - St. Truiden you combine successively the LF 6 Flanders Cycle Route, the LF 2 Cities Route, the LF 5 LF Flanders Cycle Route and the LF 35 Campina-Haspengouw route. This trip is about 270 km long. 
  • For a circular trip along the borders of the province of Limburg via Sint-Truiden – Tongeren – Lanaken – Maaseik – Lommel - Sint- Truiden you follow successively the signs of the LF 6, the LF 5 and the LF 7 Flanders Cycle Route and then the LF 35 Campina Haspengouw Route. This trip is about 255 km long.

Linked routes

The other cross-links of the Flanders Cycle Route are the LF 2, the LF 30 and the LF 38.

Illustrations LF 35 Campina-Haspengouwroute

info LF 35 Campina-Haspengouwroute

Problems on the way?

You met a problem on the stretch? A mistake in the guidebook? You have suggestions of remarkt?
Report it with one of the buttons below. Give enough information. In this way you help to keep up the quality of our routes.
We deal with your report as soon as possible. Meanwhile thanks for your help!

Report your problem Suggestion

LF 35 Kempen-Haspengouwroute

La LF 35 est l’une des quatre liaisons transversales sur la grande boucle de la Vlaanderen Fietsroute. Depuis Tilburg, elle assure la liaison entre le réseau néerlandais et flamand. Cet itinéraire de 110 km, entre la frontière à Baarle-Hertog et Saint-Trond, traverse la Campine en suivant en grande partie les rives d’un réseau de canaux, une garantie de calme et de tranquillité. Dans le Hageland et la Hesbaye flamande, les routes deviennent moins plates et moins droites. Mais si vous n’êtes pas un grimpeur, il n’y a pas de raison de paniquer: vous ne devrez franchir que quelques petites bosses entre Kwaadmechelen et Saint-Trond.

Optez pour un itinéraire varié: les lignes droites le long des canaux et la ‘IJzerenweg’ alternent avec les routes sinueuses du Hageland et de Hesbaye.

du nord au sud:

L’itinéraire part des enclaves de Baarle-Nassau - Baarle Hertog et pénètre en territoire flamand à Weelde après avoir suivi une ancienne ligne de chemin de fer. À partir de Turnhout, il y a un parcours commun avec la LF 5 Vlaanderen Fietsroute le long du canal Turnhout - Dessel jusqu’au croisement de canaux à Dessel-Witgoor. Après un plongeon dans le Zilvermeer, on longe un autre canal, celui de Dessel-Kwaadmechelen, et on atteint le canal Albert à la frontière de la province du Limbourg. La LF 35 contourne la petite ville de Diest et poursuit sa route vers le sud en direction de Webbekom ou il entre définitivement dans le Limbourg. De Halen à Geetbets, on pédale à nouveau sur une ancienne ligne de chemin de fer, la ‘IJzerenweg’, qui passe par Zoutleeuw et Wilderen. Peu après Saint-Trond, il est possible de rejoindre la LF 6 Vlaanderen Fietsroute.

itinéraires en boucle:

La LF 35 Kempen-Haspengouwroute est un maillon idéal pour des circuits de plusieurs jours à travers les provinces du Brabant flamand, d’Anvers et du Limbourg:

  • Pour une boucle Saint-Trond, Louvain, Malines, Lier, Turnhout, Diest et Saint-Trond, combinez successivement la LF 6 Vlaanderen Fietsroute, la LF 2 Stedenroute, la LF 5 Vlaanderen Fietsroute et la LF 35 Kempen-Haspengouwroute. Un itinéraire d’environ 270 km. 
  • Pour une boucle qui épouse les frontières de la province du Limbourg via Saint-Trond, Tongres, Lanaken, Maaseik, Lommel et Saint-Trond, suivez le balisage de la LF 6, de la LF 5 et de la LF 7 Vlaanderen Fietsroute et enfin de la LF 35 Kempen-Haspengouwroute. Un itinéraire d’environ 255 km.

Liens avec d'autres itinéraires

Les autres liaisons transversales sont la LF 2, LF 30 et la LF 38.

Illustrations LF 35 Kempen-Haspengouwroute

info LF 35 Kempen-Haspengouwroute

Problème en cours de route?

Un problème sur le parcours? Une erreur dans le topo-guide? Des suggestions ou des remarques à formuler?
Signalez-le avec l'un des boutons suivants. Soyez suffisamment précis. Vous nous aiderez ainsi à maintenir la qualité de nos itinéraires.
Nous traiterons ces informations aussi vite que possible. Meci déjà pour votre aide!

Signalez votre problème Suggestion