Refine your route

LF 5 Flanders Cycle Route

The LF 5 is the northern branch of the Flanders Cycle Route. It covers a distance of 300 km from the historical “Book Town” Damme to the “White town” Thorn on the Maas. This route mainly follows traffic-free paths alongside rivers and canals, but also winds its way on quiet roads through the woods and heathland of the green Campina.

Cycling on the ramparts of Bruges and through the historical center of Ghent you see many touristic highlights. By switching to the LF 2 Cities Route at the Rupel ferry in Schelle and the LF 51 Campina Route in Vierseldijk you can even cycle to the Marketplace of Antwerp. In Turnhout you explore the New Quay, where water, city and greenery meet.

Explore on your bike some great Flemish cities of art: Bruges, Ghent and Antwerp!

From West to East:

The LF 5 starts in Damme, the meeting point with the LF 1 North Sea Route, the western branch of the Flanders Cycle Route. After a short trip through the Bruges Ommeland you reach the famous “Venice of the North”. Cycling on the ramparts you can admire the famous wooden windmills and historic city gates of Bruges. From the capital of West-Flanders the route runs along the canal Ghent-Oostende. Here you’ll get to know the agricultural landscape, characteristic for this region. The sparkling cultural city of Ghent will undoubtedly charm you and the moment you leave her, you may silently regret her. From Ghent the route runs downstream along the Scheldt till the Lock of Hingene. The broad river is not only a natural blessing but also a touristic one. The salt meadows and polders are still unspoiled. If you switch to the LF 2 Cities Route here, you can ride to the center of the “Diamond City” of Antwerp. Via the Rupel dike you reach Boom and the sites of the lost brick industry. Where Rupel and Nete meet, you can switch once more to the LF 2 Cities Route to ride to the exuberant city of Malines. Alter Lier, with the famous Zimmer Tower, you plunge into the green Campina with its center “Playing Card City” Turnhout. The northern branch of the Flanders Cycle Route continues along green areas, agricultural regions and many small Campina villages, where every market place is bound to have a café. Tasting the local beers and cheeses, you ride past villages, woods, dune areas and canals to Thorn, the small border town on the Maas with its bumpy streets and white houses. From here you can continue to explore Flanders on the LF 7 Flanders Cycle Route.

Linked routes

The Flanders Cycle Route is made up out of four Flemish LF-routes: LF 1, LF 5, LF 7 and LF 6. In Damme the LF 5 connects with the LF 1 and in Thorn with the LF 7.

The LF 5 also connects with several other Flemish LF-routes.

From west to east: 

In Thorn there is a possibility to switch to the LF 5 Junction route, which in Roermond meets the LF 3 Maas Route, the Hanse Cycle Route, the Green Valleys Route and the Eifel-variant of the Green Way to the Mediterranean Sea. Besides that, the white town Thorn also offers the connection with the Dutch LF 7 Oeverlandroute.

Between Damme and Bruges the LF 5 overlaps with the Green Valleys Route. Between Schelle and Boom the Van Gogh Route runs along the LF 5. The Saint Jacobs Route does the same between Duffel and Zoersel. Thanks to the LF 5 Junction route between Thorn and Roermond it is possible to take up the Green Way to the Mediterranean Sea.

Illustrations LF 5 Flanders Cycle Route

info LF 5 Flanders Cycle Route

Please indicate change to section

Problems on the way?

You met a problem on the stretch? A mistake in the guidebook? You have suggestions of remarkt?
Report it with one of the buttons below. Give enough information. In this way you help to keep up the quality of our routes.
We deal with your report as soon as possible. Meanwhile thanks for your help!

Report your problem Suggestion

LF 5 Vlaanderen Fietsroute

Branche nord de la Vlaanderen Fietsroute, la véloroute LF 5 relie, sur une distance de 300 km, la cité historique de Damme à Thorn, la "Ville blanche" en bord de Meuse. Une grande partie de cet itinéraire suit des chemins interdits au trafic le long de rivières et de canaux, mais elle peut aussi serpenter sur des routes tranquilles à travers les forêts et les étendues de bruyère de la Campine verdoyante.

Le cyclotouriste découvrira ainsi des hauts lieux touristiques, depuis les remparts de Bruges jusqu’au cœur historique de Gand. Des connexions avec la LF 2 Stedenroute à hauteur de la traversée du Rupel à Schelle et avec la LF 51 Kempenroute à Vierseldijk permettent même de rejoindre à vélo la grand-place d’Anvers. À Turnhout, on longe le Nieuwe Kaai, où se mêlent l’eau, la ville et la verdure.

Découvrez à vélo quelques grandes villes d’art flamandes: Bruges, Gand et Anvers!

d'ouest en est:

À Damme, l’itinéraire se rattache à la LF 1 Noordzeeroute, la branche ouest de la Vlaanderen Fietsroute. Une brève traversée de la région du Brugse Ommeland permet d’atteindre rapidement Bruges, la célèbre ‘Venise du Nord’. En longeant les remparts de la ville, on peut admirer les fameux moulins à vent en bois et les portes historiques de Bruges. De là, on suit le canal Gand-Ostende, avec de belles vues sur le paysage agricole caractéristique de cette région. Avec son activité culturelle débordante, Gand ne manquera pas de vous séduire et c’est sans doute à regret que vous quitterez l’ancienne capitale du comté de Flandre pour remonter l’Escaut jusqu’à l’écluse de Hingene. Le large fleuve est ici un écrin naturel et un joyau touristique, avec ses paysages de polders et de ‘schorren’ encore sauvages. Si vous décidez de bifurquer sur la LF 2 Stedenroute, vous pouvez même rejoindre le centre d’Anvers, la capitale du diamant. Sinon, les digues du Rupel vous conduisent jusqu’à Boom et ses vestiges de briqueteries industrielles. Au confluent du Rupel et de la Nèthe, la LF 2 Stedenroute donne accès à Malines, une ville où il fait bon vivre. Après Lier, avec la célèbre tour Zimmer, on plonge au cœur de la Campine verdoyante, qui a pour centre Turnhout, la ville des cartes à jouer. La branche nord de la Vlaanderen Fietsroute traverse ensuite une région où alternent des étendues boisées, des terres agricoles, des paysages de dunes, des canaux et de nombreux petits villages campinois, avec leur grand-place où on est toujours sûr de trouver un café. Ne manquez pas d’y déguster les bières et les fromages locaux! On rejoint ainsi Thorn, localité frontière en bord de Meuse, ses petites rues cahoteuses et ses maisons toutes blanches. De là, vous pouvez poursuivre votre tour des Flandres le long de la LF 7 Vlaanderen Fietsroute.

Liens avec d'autres itinérares

La Vlaanderen Fietsroute se compose de quatre véloroutes flamandes: la LF 1, la LF 5, la LF 7 et la LF 6. La LF 5 se greffe à Damme sur la LF 1 et à Thorn sur la LF 7.

La LF 5 offre aussi de nombreuses connexions avec d’autres véloroutes flamandes.

D’ouest en est:

Depuis Thorn, l’itinéraire de liaison LF 5 permet de rejoindre Roermond où il y a une connexion avec la LF 3 Maasroute, la Véloroute de la Hanse, la Route des Vallées vertes et la variante Eifel de la Voie verte vers la Méditerranée. La véloroute néerlandaise LF 7 Oeverlandroute passe également par Thorn.

Entre Damme et Bruges, la LF 5 possède un parcours commun avec la Route des Vallées vertes. Entre Schelle et Boom, la route Van Gogh suit le trajet de la LF 5, tout comme le fait la Route vers Saint-Jacques de Compostelle entre Duffel et Zoersel. Grâce à l’itinéraire de liaison entre Thorn et Roermond, il est possible de rejoindre la Voie verte vers la Méditerranée.

Illustrations LF 5 Vlaanderen Fietsroute

info LF 5 Vlaanderen Fietsroute

  • distanceDistance: 300 km
  • viaVia: Brugge
    Aalter
    Gent
    Wichelen
    Dendermonde
    Temse
    Boom
    Duffel
    Lier
    Viersel
    Turnhout
    Lommel
    Bocholt
  • varianteVariante:
Montrez la modification de trajet

Problème en cours de route?

Un problème sur le parcours? Une erreur dans le topo-guide? Des suggestions ou des remarques à formuler?
Signalez-le avec l'un des boutons suivants. Soyez suffisamment précis. Vous nous aiderez ainsi à maintenir la qualité de nos itinéraires.
Nous traiterons ces informations aussi vite que possible. Meci déjà pour votre aide!

Signalez votre problème Suggestion