Refine your route

FLANDERS CYCLE ROUTE

The Flanders Cycle Route takes you on a unique circular cycle route throughout Flanders. It runs as a closed circle over a distance of more than 800 km through the five Flemish provinces. A unique opportunity to get to know in a sporty way the individual character and beauty of the various Flemish regions. You cycle through vast polders, heathland and forests, fruit orchards and sand dunes. But also through picturesque villages and the splendid historic cities of Flanders.

Get on your bicycle and let the beauty of Flanders seduce you!

You can start and stop wherever you like. The circular route is fully signposted in both directions by rectangular white signs with green lettering. 

The route is made up out of four individual LF- routes:

  • Vleteren-Damme: LF 1
  • Damme-Thorn: LF 5
  • Thorn - Kanne: LF 7
  • Kanne - Vleteren: LF 6

You think 800 km a bit too ambitious? No problem: the north-south junctions on the route allow you to divide the Flanders Cycle Route into five smaller circular routes. These cross-links are formed by the LF 30 Scheldt-Delta Route, the LF 38 Dender-Waasland Route, the LF 2 Cities Route and the LF 35 Campine-Haspengouw Route.

The route uses quiet and safe roads. Many kilometers run on traffic-free paths along rivers and canals and on former railway tracks. This makes the route ideal for families with children. But also experienced sports freaks will enjoy the carefully composed sections.

So, Flanders longest cycle route offers you plenty of possibilities. Ideal for a nice day trip, a relaxing weekend or a cycle holiday of several days. The combination with a linking LF-route, a local cycle route or the well-known node network, offers you endless cycling pleasure.

If you want to stay overnight, you can easily find bicycle-friendly hotels, B&B’s, campsites and youth hostels. Members of Grote Routepaden can consult our accommodation database.

Illustrations FLANDERS CYCLE ROUTE

info FLANDERS CYCLE ROUTE

Problems on the way?

You met a problem on the stretch? A mistake in the guidebook? You have suggestions of remarkt?
Report it with one of the buttons below. Give enough information. In this way you help to keep up the quality of our routes.
We deal with your report as soon as possible. Meanwhile thanks for your help!

Report your problem Suggestion

Vlaanderen Fietsroute

La Vlaanderen Fietsroute vous emmène pour un superbe circuit tout autour de la Flandre. L’itinéraire est une grande boucle de plus de 800 km qui passe par les cinq provinces flamandes. Une occasion unique de mieux connaître les particularités et les beautés des différentes régions de Flandre.

Tout au long de cet itinéraire, les vastes étendues de polders, de bruyère et de forêts alternent avec les vergers, les dunes, les villages pittoresques et les plus belles villes historiques flamandes.

Enfourchez votre vélo pour partir à la découverte des plus beaux coins de Flandre!

Vous pouvez démarrer et terminer votre randonnée à n’importe quel endroit. Le trajet en boucle est entièrement balisé dans les deux sens au moyen de panneaux rectangulaires blancs avec indications en vert.

La Vlaanderen Fietsroute se compose en fait de quatre véloroutes distinctes:

  • Vleteren-Damme: LF 1
  • Damme-Thorn: LF 5
  • Thorn - Kanne: LF 7
  • Kanne Vleteren: LF 6

Un parcours de 800 km est un peu trop ambitieux pour vous? Aucun problème: plusieurs liaisons nord-sud permettent de subdiviser la Vlaanderen Fietsroute en cinq boucles plus petites. Ces liaisons transversales sont constituées par la LF 30 Schelde-Deltaroute, la LF 38 Dender-Waaslandroute, la LF 2 Stedenroute et la LF 35 Kempen-Haspengouwroute.

Le parcours privilégie les petites routes sûres et tranquilles. Plusieurs dizaines de kilomètres empruntent des chemins interdits au trafic le long de rivières, de canaux et d’anciennes voies ferrées. Si la Vlaanderen Fietsroute convient donc parfaitement aux familles avec enfants, elle constitue aussi un beau défi pour des cyclistes plus sportifs et bien entraînés.

Vous avez donc l’embarras du choix avec la plus longue véloroute de Flandre: elle est idéale aussi bien pour une agréable sortie d’une journée que pour un week-end de détente à vélo ou des vacances de plusieurs jours. Et ce n’est pas tout: grâce aux multiples combinaisons que permettent les connexions avec d’autres véloroutes, des itinéraires locaux et le réseau bien connu de bornes numérotées, les possibilités sont pratiquement infinies.

Les cyclotouristes qui veulent loger en cours de route trouveront des hôtels, des chambres d’autres, des campings et des auberges de jeunesse spécialement équipés pour les accueillir. Consultez notre banque de données spécialisée.

Illustrations Vlaanderen Fietsroute

info Vlaanderen Fietsroute

Problème en cours de route?

Un problème sur le parcours? Une erreur dans le topo-guide? Des suggestions ou des remarques à formuler?
Signalez-le avec l'un des boutons suivants. Soyez suffisamment précis. Vous nous aiderez ainsi à maintenir la qualité de nos itinéraires.
Nous traiterons ces informations aussi vite que possible. Meci déjà pour votre aide!

Signalez votre problème Suggestion